Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

The Great Seal of the Choctaw Nation


The Choctaw Nation’s governing structure is set forth in its revised 1984 constitution. Like the U.S. government, there are three branches, executive, legislative and judicial. The executive branch is headed by a chief and assistant chief, both of whom serve four-year terms. The legislative function is carried out by a 12-person tribal council, each of whom represent geographic districts. The nation has a Court of General Jurisdiction, which resolves tribal disputes within the 10 ½ -counties of the Choctaw Nation, including a three-member appellate division.